04_Bangqiao 1About the Award

The Dragon-STAR Innovation Award aimed at delivering visibility to shining examples of Chinese-European successful collaboration cases in order to motivate and stimulate future Chinese-European cooperation.

The winner teams will be awarded with the Dragon-STAR Innovation Award during the China-EU S&T Cooperation Forum, to be held in Brussels (28 April 2015).



  • Team of innovators consisted out of at least one European (member of the EU or associated country) partner and one Chinese partner.
  • Eligible partners included research technology development (RTD) organisationscompanies (in particular SMEs are encouraged to participate) or public organisations.

The finalists



Dragon-STAR Innovation Award: The winners

The Dragon-STAR project consortium honored the three finalist teams of the Dragon-STAR Innovation Award during the China-EU S&T Cooperation Forum, which took place at Sheraton Hotel in Brussels on April 28th 2015. The Dragon-STAR Innovation Award acknowledges successful cases of Chinese-European collaboration, which have resulted in the development of a joint innovation with industrial relevance.

Dragon-STAR project partner Steinbeis-Europa-Zentrum (SEZ) was responsible for the call for applications and the evaluation procedure. The call was open for teams of innovators with at least one European and one Chinese participant, representing either an RTD organization, a company (especially SMEs were encouraged to participate) or a public organization. By winning sponsors from both China and Europe the call had been widely published and reached a lot of attention. The pre-selection of the received applications was implemented by all Dragon-STAR project partners. In a second step, the Dragon-STAR Jury rated and selected the finalists of the award.

Our Dragon-STAR Jury members were:

  • Richard Pascoe
  • Andrea Ricci
  • Jean-Marie Rousseau
  • Michele Genovese
  • Manfred Horvath
  • Wenhua Xia

During the award ceremony in Brussels, all three finalists had the opportunity to present their joint innovation and their teams as shining examples of successful Chinese-European collaboration to a wide audience. The winning teams of innovators of the Dragon-STAR Innovation Award are:


2015-04-28 18.08.38

Prof. Dr. Wieslaw Ostachowicz of the Polish Academy of Sciences (Poland)

1st Place:

Joint innovation: Structural Health Monitoring of Infrastructural Facilities via 3D Laser Scanning Vibrometer

Team of innovators: Prof. Dr. Maosen Cao of Hohai University (China) and Prof. Dr. Wieslaw Ostachowicz of the Polish Academy of Sciences (Poland), Supported by Hong Kong Polytechnic University (China)


2nd Place:

Joint innovation: Loop Heat Pipe for Solar Thermal and Photovoltaic/Thermal Systems

Team of innovators: Prof. Dr. Xudong Zhao of University of Hull (UK) and Jihuan Xu of Shanghai Pacific Energy Centre (China)

Supported by University of Nottingham, Ningbo (China), University of Nottingham (UK), De Montfort University (UK), Shanghai Solar Energy Research Centre (China) and University of Science and Technology of China (China)


3rd Place:

Joint innovation: PiMi Airbox

Team of innovators: Prof. Dr. Michael Beigl of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany) and Prof. Dr. Lin Zhang of Tsinghua University (China)


Congratulations to all winners!



For further information please direct your inquiries to:

Mrs Franziska Bergmann: bergmann[at]steinbeis-europa.de

Mr Eduardo Herrmann: herrmann[at]steinbeis-europa.de